Oatmeal Brownie Bars

These bars were fun, fun and more fun!

I procured the recipe from the Land O’ Lakes blog site – and let me tell you, make them sooner rather than later.

Crunchy from the oatmeal base and topping, with a mild chocolate center, plus they are easy to pack/transport – these bars are a winner all around.I can’t say enough good things about them!

Oatmeal Brownie Bars – adapted from Land O’ Lakes

Oatmeal Layer
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup uncooked oats
1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup cold butter, cut into chunks

Brownie Layer
1/3 cup butter
3 (1-ounce) squares unsweetened baking chocolate, chopped
1 1/4 cups sugar
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder

Heat oven to 350°F. Combine all oatmeal layer ingredients in large bowl except butter. Cut in 2/3 cup butter with pastry blender or fork until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Reserve 1 1/4 cups crumb mixture for topping. Press remaining crumbs into greased 13×9-inch baking pan. Bake 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, combine 1/3 cup butter and chocolate in large microwave-safe bowl. Microwave on HIGH (100% power), stirring twice, until chocolate is melted (30 to 60 seconds). Cool slightly.

Combine sugar, eggs and vanilla in large bowl; beat at medium speed until well mixed. Add melted chocolate mixture; continue beating until well mixed. Reduce speed to low; add 1 cup flour and baking powder. Beat until well mixed.

Drop chocolate mixture by tablespoonfuls over warm, partially baked crust. Carefully spread brownie layer evenly over crust; top with reserved crumb mixture.

Bake for 15 to 18 minutes or until edges are set. (DO NOT OVERBAKE.) Cool completely; cut into bars.

16 thoughts on “Oatmeal Brownie Bars

  1. These are unique and interesting! I love the chocolate oatmeal combo. Are they at all like chocolate revel bars? I suppose not since they don’t have any sweetened condensed milk.

  2. Very cute concept here!! WHo isnt on the search for perfect brownies? lol
    I see a few I want to try out here, but I have to give you a heads up about Ina Gartens brownie pudding. Its not “technically” a brownie, but more of a brownie then a pudding. Im not one to go around touting a recipe but that one deserves it! I also blogged about it (and pumpkin brownies too).

    Good luck on your search!

  3. I’m always looking for creative dessert ideas and tried these out today. Well– the end product was great. It got rave reviews from my mom and my boyfriend, and I really liked it too. But to get there…I had issues with the consistency. At 15 minutes, they had not set completely. At 18 minutes, they still had not set completely. I was worried about overbaking, so I kept checking them every few minutes. When they were still like gooey batter after 30 minutes, I turned off the oven and let them bake in the residual heat for another 30 minutes. They STILL refused to set. I then let them cool off, hoping they would harden as they cooled, but no such luck. So I cut them into bars, raised the oven temperature to 450, and baked for another 10 minutes. That finally did the trick. Ultimately, they came out well, but wrangling with them to harden wasn’t fun.

  4. I tried to make these, but…the brownie part didnt cook for me. I measured everything perfectly and it looked good but for some reason it just wouldnt solidify…The oatmeal part was yummy though, I’m going to use it to make cookies

  5. I had the same problem with the gooey-ness, which is okay cause my husband loves them but not everyone likes gooey, it tastes too “uncooked/raw”.
    Any suggestions? I will cut them into bars and try baking for a few extra minutes, hopefully to solidify them a bit. Thanks for the recipe though, overall they are delicious!

  6. I think it’s weird HOW EXCITED YOUR PICTURES MAKE ME! Seriously I have been thinking of doing something like this for a long time and I stumbled across your blog I nearly felt such joy as Ii have never known. I’m going to convert these into metric and bring them along to the next family gathering.

Leave a Reply

