The Brownie That Started It All

Disclaimer – these are also known as “The World’s Best Brownie” – according to Sara Brook, owner of the Dessert Gallery Bakery in Houston, Texas.

Best in the world? Hmmm – not quite – but these brownies were amazing. The texture was perfectly chewy and fudgy, and the combination of chocolates really made them special. Would I make them again? Unequivocally yes!

My only complaint was that they were too thin. I do prefer them thicker – and in order to achieve that l would use a smaller pan next time, maybe a 9″ x 9″ square pan.

As is customary for me, I left out the nuts, and added a tablespoon of coffee powder to give them a flavor punch – in the hopes that my brownie-loving nephew would give these the same two thumbs up that he gave to Ina’s Outrageous Brownies.

And while he didn’t think these were worthy of 2 thumbs up, he did admit that they were very, very good.  Just not in the same league as Ina’s.

The Brownie That Started It All – adapted from Sara Brook

Vegetable oil cooking spray
8 ounces (2 sticks) butter
2 cups sugar
4 eggs, beaten
1 tbs. instant coffee powder (optional)
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
5 ounces semisweet chocolate, chopped
2 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spray a 13 by 9-inch pan with vegetable oil spray.

In a glass or ceramic bowl, melt the butter in the microwave. Whisk in the sugar, eggs, coffee powder, cocoa, and vanilla. Stir in the flour and salt. Add chopped semisweet and bittersweet chocolates.

Spread the batter in prepared pan. Bake about 25 minutes, just until brownies test moist but not wet. Cool completely before cutting.

8 thoughts on “The Brownie That Started It All

  1. These look nice and fudgy. I’m with you on the thicker brownie – any recipe that calls for a 9×13, I put into a 9×9. Thin brownies are for ice cream sandwiches. 🙂

  2. hey,
    thought I’d skip a step and went ahead making the thicker one right away.
    Turns out they need a bit more time to cook (duh!).
    Took me about 55 minutes to get them right.
    The sides are crispy and the center very smooth. Perfect.
    Leave until only the tip of the toothpick is stained.
    VERY GOOD!

    keep on posting!

    Trying not to eat a whole 9×9 of brownies by my own,
    Julien

  3. I got on your blog accidentally. These brownies looked real tasty. So I decided to try them. I don’t have much experience cooking. It took only 1 hour to do the whole thing. It turned out very tasty too.

    I like to share this recipe on my blog (I write in Turkish, btw). I hope you don’t mind.

  4. Pingback: mehmettekn

  5. Pingback: The World’s Best Brownie Cake « mehmettekn

  6. I found this blog back in 2009 when my roommate and I were looking for good brownie recipes. I turn to this blog ALL THE TIME! It is so good! I love so many of these, thanks for posting! You rock!

Leave a Reply

