Out Of This World Brownies

Welcome back brownie lovers!

I am so excited to be posting a new  recipe – it’s been a long time since I’ve baked any brownies, and quite frankly, I was starting to go through chocolate withdrawal.

And that’s dangerous for me.

But I am even more excited because I had several taste testers that were able to give me honest, unbiased reviews of these brownies.

Ready?

Taster #1: Great, but not as good as the Outrageous Brownies (this from someone who claims he isn’t crazy about chocolate).

Taster #2: Smooth, almost like a chocolate cake, but not overpoweringly rich. Very good.

Taster #3: Perfectly chocolatey, good texture – I like it, may I have another?

Here’s an interesting fact for you – all the tasters were men, ranging in ages 11 to 42. Pretty impressive, isn’t it?

In my opinion, these brownies were really, really good – definitely worth making again. The recipe comes from Sherry Yard, pastry chef at Spago Restaurant – and the recipe isn’t complicated or difficult at all. I was hoping to sway my nephew (who ate ALL of my secret stash of Outrageous Brownies) into a new recipe, but alas, he wasn’t convinced.

I’ll just have to try another recipe!

Out Of This World Brownies – adapted from Sherry Yard

3/4 cup + 2 tbs all purpose flour
pinch salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter, cut into pieces
1 oz unsweetened chocolate, chopped
7 oz bittersweet chocolate, chopped
2 large eggs
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup bittersweet chocolate chips

Place a rack in the middle of the oven and preheat to 350F. Line an 8-inch square baking pan with aluminum foil and spray with pan spray.

Sift together flour and salt and set aside.

Melt the butter and both chocolates (either in the microwave or on the stove). Stir with a rubber spatula until smooth. Allow to cool to 90F. (I did not take the chocolate’s temperature – I just waited until it cooled down a bit.)
Using a stand or hand mixer, beat together the eggs and sugar until fluffy. With a whisk, gently beat in the butter and chocolate. Fold in the flour and chocolate chips.

Scrape batter into prepared pan and place in oven. Bake for 25-30 minutes, rotating the pan from front to back halfway through. Brownies should be slightly firm to the touch and a crust should form on the top. A toothpick will not come out clean.

Allow to cool in pan to room temperature before serving.

6 thoughts on “Out Of This World Brownies

  1. Mmm. I can’t recall if I’ve made these or not. Might have to make them regardless, since if I did, I don’t remember it. =) They look delicious.

Leave a Reply

