Boudin Bakery Brownies

Happy New Year to all! I am very excited to be continuing another year of The Brownie Project – and judging from the first entry for 2010, I think we are off to an excellent start:

I had a tough time deciding on which recipe to make to kick off the year, but I think we’ve got a winner here. These brownies, from the Boudin Bakery (which apparently is known for their bread), were really good.

But before I go any further, I have to confess something. I made a big error in the recipe – but not on purpose. I used unsweetened chocolate instead of bittersweet chocolate – and the resulting brownies still came out great. They weren’t too sweet or overpowering, and they delivered just the right amount of chocolate flavor. I didn’t realize my mistake until now, as I sat down to type up the recipe. I suppose I could re-make the recipe the proper way, but to be honest, they were perfect just the way they were. I made 1/4th of the recipe, baked them in a little flower cake pan – and I ended up with 6 daisy shaped brownies:

Come back soon – because National Blondie Day is coming up!

Boudin Bakery Brownies (adapted slightly)

1 cup (2 sticks) butter
8 oz. bittersweet chocolate
5 eggs
3 cups sugar
1 tbs. vanilla
½ tsp. salt
1 ½ cups flour

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 9-by-13-inch glass baking dish and set aside.

In a medium, heavy-bottom saucepan, melt the butter and chocolate over low heat, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat and set aside.

In a large bowl, using an electric mixer, beat together the eggs, sugar and vanilla until light and fluffy, 5 to 7 minutes. With the mixer on low speed, beat in the melted chocolate, then the salt and flour just until combined.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan. Bake in the center of the oven until puffed and almost set, about 45 minutes. A toothpick inserted will be slightly moist. Remove and cool slightly before serving.

Yield: 24 squares.

5 thoughts on “Boudin Bakery Brownies

  1. There used to be a Boudin in the mall where I grew up. Never had a brownie though. They look great! Funny about your mistake.

    When is national blondie day?

  2. I just ate lunch at the Boudin Bakery over the holidays, but I didn’t have a brownie. With such high praise, I think I need to try this soon. The only question is what sort of chocolate to use?

  3. What cute little brownies! There’s a Boudin near me and I like their salads and sandwiches (I never actually buy their bread). They gave me a free cookie once since they forgot about my order and it was excellent, so I imagine the brownies are too.

  4. I can’t keep coming here. It’s just not safe for me!
    And to think, I went to Boudin in SF in Sept. and didn’t get a brownie. I got a flippin’ salad instead! Sigh!!! Well, I suppose here is the recipe and I’ll just have to make them to see what I missed!
    Love the daisies.

Leave a Reply

