Chocolate Chunkies

Well, friends, here is my final post for The Brownie Project for 2009.…. and do you know what that means?

** gleefully rubbing hands together **

A brand new year awaits us – an exciting year full of new recipes to try and report on!

I’ve enjoyed the past 11 months of working my way through the endless stack of brownie recipes. I’ve run the gamut of the outstanding, the good, and the horrible. And enjoyed each bite in the process.

I’m so excited I could do a happy dance.

But I won’t, because I don‘t want to embarrass myself – instead, I’ll give you this:


Chocolate Chunkies – these beauties are part brownie, part cupcake (based purely upon the shape) and entirely delicious. They were easy to make, dense, super chocolatey, thick and chewy. A winning combination, in my opinion. And open to a wide bevy of add-ins – I made 2 chunkies plain, and 2 chunkies with Andes Mint Chips:

An excellent choice, if I do say so myself.

In the event that I make these again, (who am I kidding, of course I will!)  I would suggest making them smaller than the suggested size of using a standard muffin pan. I think mini muffin size would be better, because they are extremely rich.

Although my kids didn’t have any trouble taking them down, in this instance, a smaller bite would be better.

Before I leave you with the recipe, I would like to say thank you to everyone who has taken the time to visit my blog, because it’s nice to know there are others out there enjoying my tasty journey.

Here’s to 2010!

Chocolate Chunkies – adapted from a recipe by Marcel Desaulniers

18 oz. semisweet chocolate, chopped
8 tbs. unsalted butter, cut into pieces
1 cup all purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
¼ tsp salt
¾ cup granulated sugar
4 large eggs
1 tbs. vanilla extract
4 oz semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees, and place 18 foil muffin liners on a baking sheet.

Melt the chocolate and butter together (either in the microwave or in a double boiler) and stir until smooth.

Sift together the flour, baking powder and salt and set aside.

Place the eggs and sugar in a large bowl, and using a wire whisk, beat vigorously until the mixture is light in color and slightly thickened – about 2 minutes. Gently whisk in the chocolate/butter mixture, then add the vanilla. Switch to a rubber spatula and stir in the dry ingredients, then add the chocolate chips.

Divide the batter evenly between the cups, and bake for 15-18 minutes, or until a tester comes out slightly gooey. Remove the pan from the oven and allow the chunkies to cool.

Yield – 18 chunkies

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Chunkies

  1. I have a (Dark) Chocolate Chunkies recipe too, but it’s for cookies! It’s based off the Chunky candy bar, thus the name. These look like just my type of brownie, gooey and fudgy. Yuuuuummmmmm!

  2. Love the shiny crackly top! I’m going to keep this recipe in mind. I love the idea of making them in mini muffin tins. I have a recipe I do that with, but I really like top on these.
    Can’t wait to see what you come up with in the New Year!

    All the best to you and your family!

  3. Yep, here’s to 2010 and The Brownie Project! So if you made smaller ones, they could be called Lil Chocolate Chunkies! Anything with the name chocolate chunkie sounds good to me! My husband just said on Christmas Eve how good brownies sounded (admist all the other junk, none of which were brownies). Maybe I’ll surprise him. We’re snowed in and I’m already going crazy, but didn’t want to bake today because there’s already so much stuff here! Hope you had a great Christmas, Megan!

Leave a Reply

