The Farm Brownies

Happy November to you!

It might appear that things are quiet over here at The Brownie Project, but I’ve actually been baking – two new recipes to be exact – and I wanted to wait until the Halloween infused sugar rush was over.

Is it over yet?

For us, it is – I usually throw out the leftover candy one or two days after Halloween – the kids lose interest in it rather quickly. Which works out splendidly for me, given the amount of baking I do.

With that in mind, here’s a recipe for brownies from The Farm Restaurant in Beverly Hills, California. You can read about The Farm restaurant here – but from what I read, they are pretty famous for their brownies. With such rave online reviews, I had to see for myself if they were worth the hype.

1028 013

Oh boy – these lived up to their name and then some. I took the time to re-read the reviews before baking them – which translated into cutting back a bit on the butter, and chilling them thoroughly before attempting to cut or eat them.

These were amazingly rich, decadent, super chocolatey – I couldn’t stop eating them.  I can’t imagine adding anything else to these, they were perfect on their own. And, I just realized, I actually made these twice last month – which is a first in the history of The Brownie Project.

The Farm Brownies – adapted from epicurious.com

2 ½ sticks unsalted butter, cut into pieces
12 ounces fine-quality bittersweet chocolate (not unsweetened), chopped
6 large eggs
1 1/4 cups cake flour (not self-rising)
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder (not Dutch process)
3 cups sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 350°F. Butter and flour a 13- by 9- by 2-inch metal baking pan, knocking out excess flour. Melt butter with chocolate in a large metal bowl set over a saucepan of barely simmering water, stirring until smooth. Remove bowl from pan and whisk in eggs, one at a time. Sift together flour and cocoa powder in a separate bowl and stir into batter with sugar and salt. Pour batter into pan and bake in middle of oven until top is firm and a tester inserted into center comes out with crumbs adhering, 40 to 45 minutes. Cool completely in pan on a rack, about 2 hours, before cutting into 20 squares.

14 thoughts on “The Farm Brownies

  1. These brownies sound and look fantastic. I’ve copied this recipe, Megan, but I need a new brownie recipe like I need a hole in the head!! I’ve totally lost track – have you tried the Scharffen Berger brownie from The Essence of Chocolate? I posted it last week and it’s the best I’ve ever baked.

  2. Hi, I was searching a brownie recipe, and I found you, but you have so many recipes :), so which one, for you, is the best recipe that you have ever tried so far 🙂

    thanks
    xx

    • Hi Pam – that’s actually easy to answer: Ina’s Brownies (The Gold Standard) are my absolute favorite, but if you’re looking for something without coffee, try the Supernatural Brownies. The Perfect Brownies for Kids are really good, too. I’m not sure exactly what you’re looking for, but I hope this helps!

  3. Hi Megan – I’m just searching for a great recipe, but I think I’ll have to try all the 3 recipes…haha…maybe I’ll try the Ina’s Brownies but I’ll change the coffee powder for chocolate powder, and I’ll let you know the results….thanks

  4. I really love this blog, it’s great to get comparisons of different recipes. Have you thought about compiling a list where you rank how much you liked each one?

    • Hi Laura – I’m glad you are enjoying all of my brownie making!

      Since you are the second person to ask, I will make a “Top 10” list and post it before the holidays. Thanks for the idea!

  5. Oh my! Another great looking brownie to try!
    I also love seeing the palm trees in the background. 🙂 In February when it’s -20 here I’m going to come back and look at this photo. About then I’ll be wishing I was somewhere under a palm tree. Having a brownie in hand wouldn’t be a bad addition to that mental picture.

  6. Tried the recipe – and for me – the search is over! These won hands down in my house. It took all my willpower not to chow down the entire plateful in one sitting. As a matter of fact, my husband wants these brownies for his 40th birthday instead of cake. Unbelievable! Thanks for posting this one.

Leave a Reply

