Waffle Iron Brownies

Brownies in a waffle iron?

910 011
What a fabulous concept! Especially if you are like me, and want to pack one for your kids to take to school – it certainly solves the problem of squished brownies in the lunch box.

The batter has an unusual mixing procedure – you boil milk, butter and sugar together – then add the remainder of your ingredients. It produces a nice, fudgey brownie batter with a mild chocolate flavor.

The only drawback to this method is that you must not walk away while they are baking. These go from done to overdone in a matter of seconds – and an overdone brownie is not worth the effort it takes to eat it.

910 015

I will definitely be making these again, especially around the holidays. They will make a nice addition to a holiday cookie tray.

Waffle Brownies – adapted from a recipe by Beatrice Ojakangas

1 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 cup sugar
1/3 cup butter
2 tablespoons milk
2 ounces unsweetened chocolate
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 large eggs
Powdered sugar for serving, if desired

Preheat a waffle iron. In a small bowl, mix together the flour, baking soda and salt. In a small, heavy saucepan, combine the sugar, butter and milk. Place over medium-high heat and bring to a boil, stirring until the butter has melted. Remove from the heat. Add the unsweetened chocolate and vanilla. Stir until the chocolate melts and the mixture is smooth. Allow the mixture to cool the mixture for a few minutes, then stir in the eggs. Gradually blend in the flour mixture until smooth.
Drop rounded spoonfuls of the brownie mixture into the preheated waffle iron. Close the iron and cook for about 2 minutes (mine were done before that!) until the brownies are done. Remove and cool on a rack. Dust with powdered sugar before serving, if desired.

6 thoughts on “Waffle Iron Brownies

  1. I love this idea!! Have you ever made Turtle Cookies? They’re made in a waffle iron. My Mom made them when I was growing up. I haven’t made them in years but I thank you for making me think of now! The recipe is different from this but I bet it’s the same concept!

  2. The chocolate oozing out makes that photograph.

    I did not know this was your blog. I love it. I love brownies and have taken your advice on some of these. I almost did not make one recipe because someone didn’t like it but you did, so I tried them and they were good. I wish I could remember which recipe it was.

Leave a Reply

