Bombshell Brownies

Well, it finally happened. It took some time, but it finally happened.

I’ve been recording/blogging brownie recipes for, what, 6 months now? And I came across a recipe that I really didn’t like.

There’s a first time for everything, right?

622 016

These had no discernible chocolate flavor – the only thing noticeable was the overwhelming  sugary taste.

I actually threw it away. *gasp*

Good thing I only made 1/6 of the recipe.

Brooke’s Best Bombshell Brownies – adapted from allrecipes.com

1 cup butter, melted
3 cups white sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
4 eggs
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease a 9×13 baking dish.
Combine the melted butter, sugar, and vanilla in a large bowl. Beat in the eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each, until thoroughly blended.
Sift together the flour, cocoa powder, and salt. Gradually stir the flour mixture into the chocolate mixture until blended. Stir in the chocolate morsels. Spread the batter evenly into the prepared baking dish.
Bake in preheated oven until an inserted toothpick comes out clean, 35 to 40 minutes. Remove, and cool pan on wire rack before cutting.

8 thoughts on “Bombshell Brownies

  1. Perfect name apparently, bombshell brownies. Maybe you should have blown them up? 😉 Sorry you didn’t like them. Holy cow–our next TWD brownies are awesome. I’m sure you’ve made them already. I’m going to make them again for my post without nuts this time, but the nuts were awesome! Have a great 4th weekend.

  2. Wow, that’s a lot of sugar in the recipe! I’ve found that I prefer melted chocolate rather than cocoa powder in my brownies–usually more chocolatey. I’m glad you’re including the recipes that don’t work as well as the ones that do. =)

  3. wow-threw them in the trash?! They musta been awful! My habit is to keep tasting recipes at different temps and stages just to see if the taste changes. They’d probably be gone by the time I decided I didn’t like them and there’d be nothing to throw away. 😀

  4. I made these and they were a hit at the bakesale. Maybe you did something wrong? I admit they are very very rich which is a good or bad thing so I won’t make the *too* often. Wonderful treat.

Leave a Reply

