Outrageous Oreo Brownies

Here’s a question for you – how do you take the most outrageous brownie recipe and turn it into something completely and totally over the top?

By adding Oreos!

524 059

I don’t know if this recipe actually belongs to Ina, or if someone just dreamed up this amazing concoction – but let me tell you, these are truly spectacular. Even more outrageous than the regular recipe, adding a box of broken up Oreos was a move similar to the invention of laptop computers. Once you have one, you wonder to yourself, how did I ever live without it?

I made a half batch, took half of the pan to a birthday party last weekend, where they disappeared in less than 3.4 minutes – and the other half are going to Alexander’s class for his Field Day on Wednesday. Now I just need to go buy more Oreos so I can make more for me ~

Outrageous Oreo Crunch Brownies – adapted from Ina Garten

1 pound unsalted butter
1 pound bittersweet chocolate, cut into chunks
6 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped
7 large eggs
2 tablespoons instant espresso powder
2 tablespoons vanilla
2 1/4 cups granulated sugar
1 cup plus 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
4 cups chopped Oreo cookies

Preheat the oven to 350.

Butter and flour an 12 x 18 x 1 baking pan. (I used a 9 x 13 pan) In a heatproof medium bowl set over a saucepan of simmering water, heat butter, chocolate chunks and unsweetened chocolate until melted and smooth. Set aside and allow to cool slightly.

In a large bowl, stir together eggs, coffee, vanilla and sugar. Blend chocolate mixture into egg mixture and allow to cool to room temperature.

In a medium bowl, whisk together 1 cup flour, baking powder and salt. Add flour mixture to chocolate mixture. In a medium bowl, toss together Oreos and remaining 1/4 cup flour. Add Oreo mixture to chocolate mixture and gently fold to combine. Pour batter into baking pan and smooth top with a rubber spatula.

Bake 28-35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted 3 inches from center comes out clean with some crumbs attached; do not overbake.

10 thoughts on “Outrageous Oreo Brownies

  1. @#$#@$#@$# I read this and now I need to go make brownies! Why, oh why, do you do this to me!?!?
    (Fortunately I have no oreos and do not think foreos would be as good.)

  2. ALWAYS keep the BIG box of Oreos in the pantry for baking. I forget they are there, because they can be a trigger food. But it’s great to have them on hand for recipes like this. I’m not surprised they went fast! They look INCREDIBLE.

  3. Hey Megan- I LOVE your site and have enjoyed making a lot of the recipes. This one looks great but before I rush out and get my ingredients I just wanted to make sure it is indeed 2 Tablespoons of espresso powder. That just seems like the most i have ever seen in a recipe so I wanted to double check. 🙂
    Thanks!

  4. OH MY! First, a blog devotes to Brownies??? You are officially my hero. I love it though because I can flip through the entire thing to find exactly the kind I am looking for!!
    Second–These brownies look amazing. Oreo mixed in anything is a winner in my book!

  5. These brownies look out of this world, I’m planning on making them this weekend but am not sure what’s meant by unsweetened and bittersweet chocolate in British terms. Is one dark chocolate and one milk chocolate or are they both dark chocolate with different degrees of cocoa solids?

Leave a Reply

