Katherine Hepburn’s Brownies

There are as many versions of this recipe floating around in the culinary world as there are fish in the sea – and they all claim to be the original.

In my opinion, there is only one person (Ms. Hepburn) who can verify or deny all the claims, but sadly she isn’t able to do so.

2-7-007

I found this particular version on epicurious.com, and I really wish I had paid more attention to the comments/reviews.

These were awful – greasy and not particularly tasty at all. Many people commented on the flour/butter ratio being off, and the batter did look like it needed help absorbing all the butter – but I persevered, and unfortunately, the resulting pan ended up in the trash.

I think next time I’ll try Dorie Greenspan’s tribute version –  her recipe uses cocoa powder instead of unsweetened chocolate, which I believe would assist with the butter absorbing into the batter.

Katherine Hepburn’s Brownies – adapted from epicurious.com

1 stick (8 tablespoons) butter
2 squares unsweetened chocolate
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 cup all-purpose flour

1. Melt together butter and 2 squares unsweetened chocolate and take the saucepan off the heat.
2. Stir in 1 cup sugar, add 2 eggs and 1/2 teaspoon vanilla, and beat the mixture well.
3. Stir in 1/4 cup all-purpose flour.
4. Bake the brownies in a buttered and floured 8-inch-square pan at 325°F for about 40 minutes.

Remove from the oven and allow to cool before slicing.

One thought on “Katherine Hepburn’s Brownies

  1. Oh my goodness! An entire blog devoted to brownies! Love it. I hope you will try the cocoa nib brownies and post on them – they’re definitely a bit different as the nibs add a contrasting bitterness that I liked (but not everyone agreed). I am now going to mine this site for ideas.

Leave a Reply

