The Gold Standard – Outrageous Brownies

I have set up this blog to document my goal to make all of the brownie recipes that I have accumulated over the years, but have not taken the time to try.

The time is now.

I will be posting a new recipe about twice a month, and I am really looking forward to sharing the results in my search for brownie excellence. My preferred style of brownie is thick and fudgy, but I’m not one to turn away a cakey style either. In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever turned away a brownie before.

Crazy? Eh, I’ve been called worse.

Let’s begin my brownie journey with what I consider to be the gold standard for brownies – Ina Garten’s Outrageous Brownies.

2-1-020

Consisting of unsweetened chocolate, melted semisweet chocolate, chocolate chips, espresso powder and just enough flour to hold everything together, these are *it*. Intense, with a hit of coffee flavor that really accentuates the overwhelming chocolate-ness. They are not time intensive, you can have a tray of these in the oven in about 15 minutes.

The good news? The recipe makes a lot. Great for a crowd.

The bad news? The recipe makes a lot. Bad if you don’t have a crowd.

Yes, I know, you can scale the recipe down. But that takes the fun out of having these fudgey gems of chocolate goodness in your freezer for emergency situations.

Like this one: another rock hit the windshield today and now there’s chip to go with the crack from last month.

I think it’s time to head to the freezer.

Outrageous Brownies – adapted from Ina Garten

1 pound unsalted butter
1 pound plus 12 ounces semisweet chocolate chips, divided
6 ounces unsweetened chocolate
6 extra-large eggs
3 tablespoons instant coffee powder
2 tablespoons real vanilla extract
2 1/4 cups sugar
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour, divided (1 cup for batter and 1/4 cup in the chips and nuts)
1 tablespoon baking powder

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and flour a 13 by 18 by 1 1/2-inch sheet pan.
Melt together the butter, 1 pound chocolate chips, and unsweetened chocolate on top of a double boiler. Cool slightly. Stir together the eggs, instant coffee, vanilla and sugar. Stir in the warm chocolate mixture and cool to room temperature.
Stir together 1 cup of the flour and baking powder. Add to cooled chocolate mixture. Toss the walnuts and 12 ounces of chocolate chips with 1/4 cup flour to coat. Then add to the chocolate batter. Pour into prepared pan.
Bake for about 30 minutes, or until tester just comes out clean. Halfway through the baking, rap the pan against the oven shelf to allow air to escape from between the pan and the brownie dough. Do not over-bake! Cool thoroughly, refrigerate well and cut into squares.

18 thoughts on “The Gold Standard – Outrageous Brownies

  1. Can’t wait to see all the results? Will you back post any of the Dorie brownies? I still need to try these. When will they be calorie free?

  2. So would you like me to send you some brownie recipes now? I made one from my grandmother’s cookbook (handwritten) the other day, and while I doubt it is comparable, it is a brownie recipe. 🙂

  3. I needed to find a good recipe for birthday “cakes” for my boyfriend’s birthday in the next week. He didn’t want cake this year, thought it was too plain, but we weren’t sure what route to go. Thank you Firefox and Stumble Upon for getting me to The Brownie Project and solving our dilemma. I told him that he should pick 3 recipes off here and we would make half batches of each to find the one he liked best for his “cake.”

    Can I just say, that if heaven has a flavor, it must taste like this brownie. My entire house is an echoing chorus of “Oh my god!” and “Woah!” and “Mmmmmmmmmm!” because of this brownie. It’s too good. John, my boyfriend, has declared it the best brownie he has ever tried.

    Now I have to make the other 2 recipes, both of which also promise to be super delicious, and I’m afraid they will also meet the same raves of my housemates and that in the next few weeks we will all gain 50 pounds from eating such delicious treats.

    Anywho, thanks so much for putting this together. I’ll be sure to follow your blog from now on. =)

  4. Pingback: Perfect Recipe » Blog Archive » Outrageous Brownies

  5. I love your site, and I get super excited when I see a new post in my feed reader. Thank you for sharing your delicious experiments!

    I made these a few days ago, and they are indeed fantastic. But I felt they needed salt – I thought it was strange that there was none in such a big recipe, but I resisted adding it. Turns out there is a teaspoon of kosher salt in Ina’s recipe on foodnetwork.com. Either way they are delicious, but I’ll add the salt next time.

    Refrigeration is probably the best thing that ever happened to a brownie – it’s a very worthwhile exercise in patience.

    Thank you again for the blog!

    • Blake – thanks for your kind comment – it certainly made my day!

      In reference to the salt, it seems to be as subjective as the brownie recipes themselves. I actually don’t like salt in my desserts, so I usually omit it or drastically reduce it. But again, it’s my personal preference. However, I seem to be in the minority about that!

  6. good day,

    these brownies are unnecessarily delicious. there is no reason for anything to taste this good, really. i’ve made three batches since thanksgiving, and everyone i give them to gives them as gifts in order to spread what they all deem as the greatest brownies ever to have been conjured in a kitchen.

    i’ve been using nespresso coffee capsules in the recipe with toasted pecans in lieu of brownies, and a little less flour than the recipe calls for, in order to decrease the cakiness and increase the density of the final product. my other little change is that i leave the pan in the oven for a few minutes, then sprinkle the twelve ounces of chocolate on top of the batter to give it a nice chocolate crust on top. it’s legitimate. do you do anything in particular to de=cake your brownies? do tell; i very much trust your judgment on the subject.

    thanks for all the recipes,
    lauren

  7. woohoo! Last month ago I “stumbled upon” what was titled the best brownie recipe ever. I made them…they were just okay.

    And now I stumbled upon your brownie project and I am STOKED to try out some recipes (specifically this one since it’s your number one).

    -Marya

  8. WOW!! Just baked these and they came out glorious! thanks so much!!!! I had made my goal to follow at least 80% of your footsteps! I really love your blog and I also enjoy a lot baking brownies! So once again! many thanks!!

  9. Looking forward to making these soon, just wondering, the recipe mentions walnuts, though not the ingredients, did you just omit walnuts from the recipe?

Leave a Reply

