Dorie Greenspan’s Classic Brownies

Since several readers of The Brownie Project have asked for it, and it’s getting close to that time of year when many of you are looking for just the right recipe for a holiday gathering, I’m working on a “Top 10” list of brownies.

Of course, looking back at my posts throughout the year has kicked off a brownie craving like you can’t imagine.

But before I publish my list, I’d like to get another great brownie recipe into the running – because you know, 31 recipes over the course of the year just isn’t enough.

Dorie Greenspan has several wonderful brownie recipes in her book, “Baking From My Home To Yours”, and as I was flipping through it, I came across her version of “Classic Brownies”. Dorie says these are not classics in the truest sense of the word, as they contain both unsweetened chocolate as well as bittersweet chocolate.

1030 052
However, these brownies fit my definition of a classic because they are sturdy enough to be packed, simple to make, yet deeply chocolatey enough to border on the fudgy side. They are dense, but not heavy. Assuming, of course, you don’t cut large squares like I do.

These are a great go-to brownie when you want something simple, without anything to get in the way of a pure chocolate punch.

Classic Brownies - adapted from Dorie Greenspan

5 tbs. unsalted butter, cut into pieces
4 oz. bittersweet chocolate, chopped
2 oz. unsweetened chocolate, chopped
¾ cup sugar
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
¼ tsp salt
1/3 cup all purpose flour

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Line an 8” square pan with foil and either butter the foil or spray it with nonstick spray.

In a medium sized saucepan, over very low heat, combine the butter and chocolates. Stir until just melted and smooth, then remove from the heat. Stir in the sugar, then whisk in the eggs, one at a time. Add the vanilla, and gently stir in the salt and flour just until incorporated. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for 25-30 minutes, or until a tester just about comes clean. Be very careful not to overbake. Transfer the pan to a wire rack to cool completely, then use the foil to remove the brownies from the pan and cut into squares.

Yield – 16 brownies.

4 thoughts on “Dorie Greenspan’s Classic Brownies

  1. I haven’t tried these yet. But just in my own measly little opinion, the Tribute to Katharine Hepburn brownies are Dorie’s best. But maybe only because they are cheaper and well, I’m kinda cheap, but I also think those KH brownies are fabulous and I add all kinds of stuff to them. That being said, I do like to try new recipes and am adding these to the list!
    Love all the brownie work you do for us! ;)

  2. Sadly I just made these and overbaked them.

    >.<

    I followed a different recipe which suggested 30-33 minutes baking time. I am very sad (in both senses of the word really), and now out of good chocolate.

  3. Pingback: Potluck Gold: Dorie Greenspan’s Classic Brownies « (un)Settling Down

Leave a Reply

