Supernatural Brownies

Can I be honest here? I mean really, totally, and completely honest?

5-7 029

One bite of these brownies is like a bite of heaven. If you could take a bite of heaven, that is.

I made these brownies the day my computer crashed. I was throwing a serious pity party – and what better way to make myself feel better than with loads of chocolate?

I was right, though, I DID feel better.

But more than that, I think Ina’s brownies just lost their #1 position.

Make these at your own risk.

Supernatural Brownies - adapted from Nick Malgieri

2 sticks (1/2 pound) unsalted butter
8 ounces bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, cut into 1/4-inch pieces
4 large eggs
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup all-purpose flour
One 13x9x2-inch pan, buttered and lined with buttered parchment or foil
1. Set the rack in the middle of the oven and preheat to 350 degrees.
2. Bring a saucepan of water to a boil and turn off heat. Combine butter and chocolate in a heat proof bowl and set over pan of water. Stir occasionally until melted.
3. Whisk eggs together in a large bowl, then whisk in the salt, sugars, and vanilla. Stir in the chocolate and butter mixture, then fold in the flour.
4. Pour batter into prepared pan and spread evenly. Bake for about 45 minutes, until top has formed a shiny crust and batter is moderately firm. Cool in pan on a rack. Wrap pan in plastic wrap and keep at room temperature or refrigerated until the next day.
5. To cut brownies, unmold onto a cutting board, remove paper, and replace with another cutting board. Turn cake right side up and trim away edges. Cut brownies into 2-inch squares.

20 thoughts on “Supernatural Brownies

  1. I have only made scratch brownies a few times b/c they never taste as good as a box mix (when butter is subbed for the oil), but now I’ve got a reason to try again. They don’t, however, make a very pretty brownie,do they? But maybe that’s because you couldn’t resist tearing into them b4 they were cooled? :) A friend also recommended I try the King Arthur brownie and I see that recipe is on your blog too, so I’ll be using that one as well. Can’t wait to try them–thanks for sharing. I hope they’re good enough to change my mind!

  2. Wow, those brownies are intense. I made them last night and had female friends over to watch a movie and sample the treats. They do look a bit undercooked as my friend exclaimed but still delicious. Would you recommend a way to freeze them? Wrap individually or whole?
    Thanks for your help.

  3. So how do these brownies compare to the King Arthur brownies? These brownies appear to be cakey. Are they more cakey than fudgey? Thanks.

    • Jennifer – these aren’t cakey at all – I think these are fudgier than the KA brownies. And these have a more intense chocolate flavor.

  4. These are my all-time favorite brownies, hands down. I make these with European 70% chocolate and they turn out great every time. Everybody loved these brownies. I even entered them at the State Fair baking contest and won a blue ribbon for them.

  5. I made these brownies this weekend using Scharfenberger bittersweet chocolate. My husband really liked them, but my grandmother’s recipe is still the tops in his mind – I just need to up the chocolate to 3 oz. For chocolate flavor he likes Martha Stewart’s but they are too dry. All around – good flavor, great moist texture.

  6. I just wanted to say I came across this recipe about 2 months ago and almost chucked all my other recipes in the bin in favour of this one. These are without doubt the best brownies I have ever EVER had and the great joy of them is that once you have the basic batter if you really want other things in them they work well with nuts and chunks of white chocolate or whatver else you might fancy. Personally I like em plain.

    PS. LOVE your blog. I’m converting all my chums here in the UK to brownies through this site!

  7. You have so many brownie recipe’s you have tried I thought I would ask if you had ever tried a cherry brownie recipe? I am definitely trying this recipe myself as I have a brownie problem. I have not found a twelve step for this problem yet but I don’t think I am ready to give them up anyway.

  8. Hmmm…I may have to disagree about how amazing these are. Yes, they are very good, but I don’t agree with Nick’s “Supernatural” title nor do I agree with them being the best. So many brownies…so little time.

  9. These brownies were AMAZING! I made them for a church youth group. The batter was a very rich dark chocolate tasting, which I loved, but they were for teenagers mostly boys so I added some milk chocolate chip. That sweetened them up a lot and gave that burst of chocolate when you bit into certain pieces. Very delicious and are in my book.

  10. Pingback: The Brownie Project Top 10 List for 2009 « The Brownie Project

  11. Pingback: Perfect Recipe » Blog Archive » Supernatural Brownies

  12. I have to agree with MRB. I thought these were just okay. There was no “intense chocolate flavour” as promised, and I used Callebaut 70% chocolate. They were nice and moist though. I usually make the Alton Brown cocoa brownies (that didn’t even make the top 10 on this site). I make those with Camino organic dutch cocoa, and they have a lot more chocolate flavour! I’m almost afraid to take these to work – I might loose my brownie making crown.

  13. Pingback: Slutty Brownies….. |

Leave a Reply

